sophieduffy

writing, reading, family, life, politics

Blog Tour – The Writing Process – My Turn

We’re all different, us writers. So when it comes to the writing process, it’s fascinating to hear how others do it. The wonderful Elizabeth Stott kindly invited me to follow her in ‘the writing process blog tour’. I have to answer four questions, so do read my answers below. And check out Elizabeth’s blog. I have always been envious of both her distinctive voice and her glorious hair.

http://elizabethstott.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/blog-tour-the-writing-process-my-turn/

6578122

1. What am I working on?

I’m redrafting a novel. I wrote it in the third person but now I am trying it in the first person, from my favourite character’s point of view. It feels better already. I suppose I thought it more grown up to write in the third, and a challenge, but maybe I should stick to what feels natural. Won’t say much more now. Except: ‘students’.

2. How does my work differ from others in its genre?

I don’t fit neatly into a box. My writing is about family and relationships. It is accessible and readable but I hope with some depth and with some questions about this game of life. My first novel The Generation Game explores this theme through the eyes of Philippa Smith who tells the story of her quirky family to her baby.

3. Why do I write what I do?

I don’t really know quite why I write what I do, other than I write what I am drawn to. I love reading novels that have both comedy and tragedy, a quick wit and a tear-inducing poignancy – books by writers like Sue Townsend, Kate Long, Laurie Graham, Kate Atkinson, David Lodge, Graham Swift. Books about everyday people with unique stories to tell. In This Holey Life, I wrote about a reluctant curate’s wife who has to come to terms with the loss of a child and a new way of life. This sounds very sad but my novels always have hope and try to see the best in life.

4. How does your writing process go?

Sometimes like a dog after a squirrel, sometimes slower than a Swedish art film. Both are valid. I have decided not to worry about word counts as more often than not I fail to reach them. So I am taking the pressure off myself. That’s not to say I’m running away from it or procrastinating (though if you see an earlier blog post of mine, you will see that that is exactly what I do do). But for me there are famines followed by feasts. And there is always a lot of reading, reading, reading and a lot of muscular thinking while walking the dogs or lying in the bath. When I really need to get in the work frame of mind, I hopscotch across the garden to my office, my haven and my sanctuary. My escape from my own quirky family.

Following me on the blog tour next Monday 3rd February is the marvellous writer and teacher Cathie Hartigan. Meanwhile do check out her website and blog and see what goings on happen down Exeter way.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour – The Writing Process – My Turn

  1. Great stuff, Sophie – really enjoyed reading your observations on writing. And thank you for the kind comments about my hair – there has to be an up-side to going grey/white in one’s 20s! I have always admired your work for its authenticity and ability to reach directly at feelings. Too many writers shy away from things that matter. Loved both ‘The Generation Game’ and ‘This Holey Life’. I have envied your ability to get on with work and ‘get out there’. I still want to know what happened to the ‘wallpaper’ in your MA work…

  2. The Wallpaper has been stripped and gone…

  3. Pingback: The Writing Process Blog Tour Continues – Sophie Duffy | Elizabeth Stott - to Blog or Not

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers