Luke Bitmead Writer’s Bursary

If you are a struggling writer and want to be published, then think about entering the Luke Bitmead Bursary for new writers. The award was set up shortly after Luke’s untimely death in 2006 by his family to support and encourage the work of fledgling novel writers. The winner will receive a publishing contract with Legend Press, as well as a cash bursary.

This is the fourth year of the award. Andrew Blackman won the first year with On the Holloway Road. Ruth Dugdall won the second year with The Woman Before Me. And I was astounded to be the third winner with The Generation Game which will be published on August 1st.

If you have an unpublished novel that you want to share with the world, then give it a go. What have you got to lose?


2 thoughts on “Luke Bitmead Writer’s Bursary

  1. Hello,

    My name’s Iain Laurie, I came second to you in the competition. Unfortunately I didn’t get chance to speak to you on the night, it was pretty hectic as I’m sure you remember. Anyway, a year and a half late I just wanted to say congratulations and good luck since I see your winning entry is coming out soon. I hope its wildly successful and everything you hoped for.

    All the best with it and everything that follows.


    • Hi Iain

      Actually I think you came second to Ruth Dugdall in 2009 – I won 2010. But thanks anyway! My novel The Generation Game comes out on August 1st. Ruth’s second novel comes out very soon – also with Legend Press – and The Woman Before Me which won the Luke Bitmead 2009 is doing really well. Hope your writing is also proving fruitful.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s