Ruby Slippers

Dorothy’s iconic ruby slippers are being auctioned in LA later this year at a guide price of $2-$3 m. Slightly more than my fluffy slippers from M&S.

This got me thinking about the things I have in my home that are worth anything – of celebrity value. I’ve got a stone from Southfork Ranch that my brother brought back for me from a trip to Dallas circa 1982. I have a signed photo of Slade given to me by my Uncle Dick after he bumped into them in a Brummie hotel at the height of their long-haired pop stardom.

And I have a first ever edition of Smash Hits magazine – though I’ve vandalised it with stickers (remember the ones you used to buy from WH Smiths with chewing gum – the best!).

That’s about it.

I don’t think I’ll be getting rich anytime soon.

But if money were no object, what would I buy? A first edition of Brideshead Revisited? The Delorean from Back to the Future? Audrey Hepburn’s Givenchy little black dress from Breakfast at Tiffany’s? Fred Astaire’s tap shoes? Jacqueline du Pre’s cello?

What piece of memorabilia would you like to get your hands on?

This is the sort of thing that keeps me awake at night…

Leave a Reply

