From St Helena to Edinburgh

http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2013/jan/25/my-hero-robert-burns-lochhead

 

Robert-Burns-001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I only have a small part of me that is Scottish. That part belonged to my great great grandmother who I believe was called Maria McCallum. Family legend has it that she was laid in Napoleon’s coffin as a toddler, a coffin made by her father, a carpenter and member of the British army, stationed on St Helena at the time of Napoleon Bonaparte’s exile and death.

But that’s by the bye…

Over the last year or so I have fallen in love with Scotland, in particular with Edinburgh. I wish I was there today, on Burns night. Maybe next year…

So here’s a few words from Robbie himself. Not just for Hogmanay but for times when you want to raise a glass of goodwill to old friends, old times and those you love:

And there’s a hand my trusty fiere, 
And gie’s a hand o thine, 
And we’ll tak a right guid-willie waught, 
For auld lang syne.

Rest well, Robbie.

 

 

2 thoughts on “From St Helena to Edinburgh

  1. I love Scotland too Sophie. Especially the Isle of Skye, and flora McDonald. Love Robbie burn’s poetry. Thankyou for the great blog, and so interesting about your great great grandmother …

  2. I love Edinburgh I have been going most years for the past twenty as my father lives there with his lovely scottish wife. I would like to travel and see more of Scotland it is most definitely a place in my heart !!

Leave a Reply

