Back to the Present

mac and borg

I haven’t blogged for three weeks. I don’t know where the time has gone. In fact, where does Time go? Wouldn’t it be nice if we could dig it up and pick out the best bits and revisit them. Would we treasure them more? Would we try and hold onto them? What would you change?

Ok, so this is why I haven’t blogged. I have recently finished the first draft of my current novel which revisits the youth of the four main characters and the repercussions of one night back in the day. I have been stuck in time with these characters and now I have come back into the world and it’s become a very scary place. Day by day I am reconditioning myself to live as Sophie Duffy and not as Bex, Tommo, Cameron or Christie. I need time away from the novel not only to be able to come back to the edits with a fresh eye but also to remind myself of who I am.

But good timing. Wimbledon begins today.

6 thoughts on “Back to the Present

  1. Phew! I’m not surprised you haven’t been blogging – congrats on the first draft, great feeling and yes, great timing! Enjoy Wimbledon (just a teensy bit jealous). I begin my radio/ Internet/ twitter news dodge today so that I can watch the highlights without knowing the results.
    The story line sounds great by the way, I’d read that!

  2. Wimbledon is one of the events that I have never been to and it’s on my list…I love tennis but was never very good at it, I haven’t played since a game of doubles about 25 years ago when my tennis partner suggested, ‘why don’t you try serving under arm?’ talk about a put down!

    Well done on finishing the first draft of your third novel, I’ looking forward to reading it. I have yet to start the first of a first!

Leave a Reply

