Meek. Mild. As if.

faces_revolutionary

Sometimes I just can’t help myself. I try to keep away from conflict but when I get riled I have to say something. If it’s important. And lots of stuff is important to me. Not designer clothes or fancy holidays or fast cars. I’m talking politics. Cos if you don’t do politics, what do you do?

And I don’t mean party politics. I mean our beliefs and actions which should be radical and revolutionary. Like Jesus.

Here’s the Beatitudes which Jesus taught to his disciples.

He said:

3 ‘Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
4 Blessed are those who mourn,
for they will be comforted.
5 Blessed are the meek,
for they will inherit the earth.
6 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be filled.
7 Blessed are the merciful,
for they will be shown mercy.
8 Blessed are the pure in heart,
for they will see God.
9 Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they will be called children of God.
10 Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Matthew 5:3-10

So when I see or hear a rant about gun laws, or a throwaway comment about Page 3, or homophobia in the name of religion, I get mad. This doesn’t always help, as when I am mad, I am not particularly articulate. I’d love to be articulate. (So maybe that’s why I write fiction because then I can trust in my characters’ voices rather than my own.)

Anyway… whatever our faith system, the Beatitudes are good to keep on mind if we want to live in a better world.

Leave a Reply

