Ladies, Gentlemen, and Children

article-2609163-1D3A11C100000578-837_634x418

So yes, I am v. excited to hear the news that Miranda Hart is in talks with the Beeb about hosting a new series of The Generation Game.

Why am I v. excited?

Several serendipitous reasons:

1. I loved The Generation Game as a child – so much so that my debut novel is called The Generation Game.

2. I love Sir Bruce Forsyth.

3. I love Miranda Hart.

4. Last year, Miranda interviewed Brucie, reminding us that 20 million viewers would tune into The Generation Game on a Saturday night.

4. The narrator in my novel is called Philippa (Smith). One of the best TV directors around right now is also called Philippa (Lowthorpe). She directed Call the Midwife, in which Miranda Hart played a midwife. (She also directed Daphne du Maurier’s Jamaica Inn which is being aired this week – apparently they are sorting out the sound issues for tonight’s episode.) Philippa (Lowthorpe) likes strong female characters. Philippa (Smith) has her faults, but she’s a survivor.

5. My novel is set in a sweetshop in Torquay (that part is true to life. We lived above a sweetshop from 1972-74 and our neighbour, Wink, loved Brucie and TGG). And – get this – Miranda Hart was born in Torquay.

6. I blogged ages ago about a school visit where I went to talk about being a writer (my old school). One of the questions I was asked was who would I like to play Philippa if TGG is ever made into a film/TV drama. I wasn’t sure until one of the students suggested Miranda Hart. Perfect!

So, please Miranda and Philippa … I am sending you both copies of my book which I would love you to read. Warm Sunday night viewing…?

Here’s a little reminder of Brucie and Anthea.

One thought on “Ladies, Gentlemen, and Children

  1. Miranda Hart would be a perfect host for The Generation Game! This was such a big part of my childhood too – the Brucie version that is.
    I keep hoping to bump into Miranda in the next village from me, where she lives. Friends of my son have spotted her in the Co-op etc but so far I’ve not met her. If I do I will just gush on…

Leave a Reply

