D is for Death

New Project https://www.rlf.org.uk/showcase/d-is-for-death/

So sorry I’ve been so rubbish at posting on here but I’ve been busy with cancer recovery and a new venture – a non-fiction book about all things death and dying, a change of direction for me. Rather than telling you all about it here, please have a read of the above article I wrote for the Royal Literary Fund. And please come along for the ride and I promise to be more present on here, feeding you snippets of interesting information and, of course, stories.

Meanwhile, here’s an image for you. Of my favourite door which got me the most likes I’ve ever had on Twitter (over 5 and a half thousand to date!). Why this door? Well, not only is it quite brilliant and very old, but it is open, inviting you to walk in. This is what I’ve done, pushed open the door to see what is inside. Come with me.

2 thoughts on “D is for Death

  1. Lovely door – remember it well My temporary office in Dartmouth used to overlook the church. I often used to muse on bygone times whilst turning over a knotty issue in my head

    And your email is timely. I enjoyed it and the link. On Wednesday I get the follow up to a second biopsy. I already know I have ductal carcinoma in situ in my right breast (what is it with a right leaning cancer in us lefties 😆) but a second area has to be followed up to determine if that is also cancerous. Result will determine if it is a relatively minor excision followed by radiotherapy or something more full on.

    So I was a bit rocked. My first ever mammogram also resulted in a recall and biopsy but turned out to be a benign cyst. As the LAM lung condition involves cysts on lungs I decided I was just a lumpy, bumpy person in more ways than one.

    But I have lived with the diagnosis of LAM ever since December 2006 and this cancer should be treatable, so I am settling down to must getting on with it.

    So thank you 🙏 and here’s to you Kerry xxx

    Kerry Larbalestier Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.