First Day Covers

david-tennant cult-doctor-who-stamps-10

As a child, my mum used to get First Day Covers for my brothers and me. Although I’m not a stamp collector, I do tend to collect things – well, I don’t throw things away unless they are physically prised from my hands. So I still have my stamps, tucked away in a drawer amongst the old Smash Hits and gonks.

I’m not a huge Doctor Who fan either, though I have a fondness for it as an institution. I’ve never quite got over Tom Baker regenerating into Peter Davidson (no offence, Peter). But I am quite excited about the latest anniversary collection of stamps: 50 years of Doctor Who. Eleven stamps, one for each actor who has played the Time Lord (bagsy David Tennant and, of course, Tom).

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-21937601

This did get me thinking about some of the iconic stamps of my childhood. And what little works of art they are.

Who remembers these:

il_fullxfull.316897726 10748607-great-britain--circa-1974-a-stamp-printed-in-united-kingdom-shows-sir-winston-spencer-churchill-brit images-4 images-6images-5images-7images-10images-9
1973_691_l

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.